0

  Festive Season Opening Hours

Wed 23 Dec – OPEN 8am-5pm

Thu 24 Dec – OPEN 8am-4pm

Fri 25 Dec – CLOSED

Sat 26 Dec – CLOSED

Sun 27 Dec – CLOSED

Mon 28 Dec – CLOSED

Tue 29 Dec – OPEN 8am-5pm

Wed 30 Dec – OPEN 8am-5pm

Thu 31 Dec – OPEN 8am-4pm

Fri 1 Jan – CLOSED

Sat 2 Jan – CLOSED

Sun 3 Jan – CLOSED

Mon 4 Jan – CLOSED

Tue 5 Jan – OPEN 8am-5pm

Recycling Building Materials – Shabby Shack Project

Recycling Building Materials

Peter Jameson from Marlborough built this beautiful shabby shack for his daughter Abby using totally recycled and reclaimed materials. Building started in February 2015 and the ‘Tiny House’ welcomed it’s first guests in December 2015. The cabin style accommodation sleeps 2 adults in a loft style sleeping platform with a double bed and a roof that opens to the sky.

Abby's Shabby Shack Built From Recycled Materials

Building a Tiny House

With sustainable and eco-friendly living in mind, Peter sourced the beautiful French doors and two lead light windows from our huge collection of reclaimed building materials.

The Tiny House Movement and George Clarke’s Amazing Spaces have helped fuel a shift towards constructing smaller homes, and more people are reusing and recycling building materials for their projects. Musgroves has been salvaging building materials since the 1960s, and we have managed to rescue many beautiful heritage materials and architectural features from some of Canterbury’s most iconic buildings.

Watch a timelapse video of the build

Video: Courtesy ASKJAMESON.com


Musgroves are on Pinterest

More Inspiration on Pinterest

View more projects using Musgroves recycled building materials on Pinterest.


Feature on our Wall of Fame!

Have you been working on a home renovation project using recycled materials from Musgroves?
Send us some photos and details and we’ll add you to our Wall of Fame!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *